Do you attend teleconference meetings with large numbers of people on the phone? With slides are being projected on a shared desktop or no slides at all? I have these sorts of meetings several times a week. Now, I have something to admit — I get distracted.

There it is, my truth is out. My mind wanders. It should be so simple to sit in one place, look at a screen, listen and think … and yet it is very challenging. The online world is just a click away and is so tempting! Truth is, distraction happens when attending in person too – how many times have you pulled out your computer or smartphone in a large meeting?

This is a bad habit. A very bad habit. And yet, there’s something unnatural about sitting in one spot for long periods of time. Especially if there is one meeting after another like this.

I began experimenting with techniques to increase my focus. It started with just trying pure discipline. No clicking around. Pure gutting it out to kick the addiction. This worked for awhile, but the click-habit would creep back.

Fortunately, a couple of chance situations during a vacation and working remotely gave me new information. First, I was on vacation and stripping 30-year old wallpaper off bedroom walls. A horrible job and I was trapped in that room for 2 days straight getting crankier and crankier. I listened to music to pass the time. It just so happened there was an interesting meeting I really wanted to listen in on. It was a virtual meeting – conversation, no slides. I called in, put my phone on mute and stripped away. It was a very entertaining hour! I was focused and followed every bit of conversation intently without the distraction temptation. Another time, while working remotely, I was sitting outside. I noticed the grass I was sitting on was long, so I grabbed the push-lawn mower, mowed away and listened intently undistracted. 100% focus again.

Something similar happens when I have walking meetings. Some of my best 1:1 conversations with direct reports and colleagues occur during walking meetings. Great insights and depth of conversation. Somehow using the body frees up the mind to be more focused on the conversation. I’ve experimented with standing meetings and the same phenomena occurs.

Let’s face it – most of the time, slides are unnecessary. So, you don’t have to be tied to your computer — well you do if you “call” into the meeting via the computer. But usually, you can use your phone to call in. Slides can be looked at in advance or after the meeting if really needed.

Grab your phone and go for a walk. Hike the stairs, do the dishes, paint a room, sweep, wash the car. Are you less tempted by distraction? Does your focus improve?